FINAL 2021 WNBA Major Awards picks

Jonquel Jones of the Connecticut Sun.

This is it. We have reached the end of the WNBA regular season. I’ve been tracking the WNBA Awards every week and we have reached the conclusion. The awards will be handed out within the WNBA Playoffs games and it should be interesting if the voters agree with the picks I have chosen. You can also read my Her Hoop Stats article on the Major Awards choices as well as the explanations for them.

Executive of the Year: Cheryl Reeve – Minnesota Lynx – *Official Award Winner: Dan Padover, Las Vegas

Coach of the Year: Curt Miller – Connecticut Sun – *Official Award Winner: Curt Miller, Connecticut

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award: Sue Bird – Seattle Storm – *Official Award Winner: Nneka Ogwumike, Los Angeles

Michaela Onyenwere of the New York Liberty
Michaela Onyenwere of the New York Liberty has had a spectacular rookie season and is the candidate for Rookie of the Year. Photo courtesy of NBAE/Getty Images.

Dawn Staley Community Leadership Award: Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm – *Official Award Winner: Amanda Zahui B, Los Angeles

Rookie of the Year: Michaela Onyenwere – New York Liberty – *Official Award Winner: Michaela Onyenwere, New York

Sixth Woman of the Year: Kelsey Plum – Las Vegas Aces – *Official Award Winner: Kelsey Plum, Las Vegas

Most Improved Player of the Year: Brionna Jones – Connecticut Sun – *Official Award Winner: Brionna Jones, Connecticut

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx – *Official Award Winner: Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota

Most Valuable Player of the Year: Jonquel Jones – Connecticut Sun – *Official Award Winner: Jonquel Jones, Connecticut

All-WNBA First Team (*All teams are put by position, except the All-Rookie Team.)Official Teams click here to view them

  • Jonquel Jones
  • Breanna Stewart
  • Brittney Griner
  • Skylar Diggins-Smith
  • Jewell Loyd

All-WNBA Second Team

  • A’ja Wilson
  • Dewanna Bonner
  • Sylvia Fowles
  • Courtney Vandersloot
  • Kahleah Copper

All-WNBA Defense TeamOfficial All Defense Teams click here to view them

  • Sylvia Fowles
  • Brittney Sykes
  • Brittney Griner
  • Ariel Atkins
  • Jonquel Jones

All-Rookie TeamOfficial All-Rookie Team click here to view them

  • Michaela Onyenwere
  • Aari McDonald
  • DiJonai Carrington
  • DiDi Richards
  • Awak Kuier

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s