2021 WNBA Major Awards Watch – Week 3

Marina Mabrey of the Dallas Wings

Three weeks into the season, WNBA teams have played between 4 to 8 WNBA games. We saw Connecticut lose twice and Atlanta win three straight. We also saw Los Angeles win the series against the Chicago Sky to improve to .500. Minnesota also managed to get their first win yesterday evening.

Listed below are the weekly update to the WNBA Awards watch. You can view the previous week here.

Executive of the Year: Jonathan Kolb, New York Liberty

Coach of the Year: Mike Petersen, Atlanta Dream

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award: Sue Bird, Seattle Storm

Most Improved Player: Marina Mabrey, Dallas Wings

MVP: Jonquel Jones, Connecticut Sun

DPOY: Elizabeth Williams, Atlanta Dream

Sixth Woman of the Year: Dearica Hamby, Las Vegas Aces

ROY: Michaela Onyenwere, New York Liberty

WNBA All First Team *(not position based)

  • G- Jewell Loyd – Seattle Storm
  • G/F – Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty
  • F – Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm
  • F – Dewanna Bonner – Connecticut Sun
  • C – Jonquel Jones – Connecticut Sun

WNBA All Second Team

  • G – Courtney Williams- Atlanta Dream
  • G – Tiffany Hayes- Atlanta Dream
  • G – Chelsea Gray – Las Vegas Aces
  • F – A’ja Wilson – Las Vegas Aces
  • C – Brittney Griner – Phoenix Mercury

All Defense Team

  • Courtney Williams – Atlanta Dream
  • Brittney Sykes – Los Angeles Sparks
  • Elizabeth Williams – Atlanta Dream
  • Brianna Turner – Phoenix Mercury
  • Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty

All Rookie Team

  • Michaela Onyenwere
  • Charli Collier – Dallas Wings
  • DiJonai Carrington – Connecticut Sun
  • Aari McDonald – Atlanta Dream
  • Didi Richards – New York Liberty


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s