2021 WNBA Major Awards Watch – Week 9

Kelsey Plum

This was the last week before the pre-Olympic break and it was definitely interesting. The WNBA teams are divided into three categories now: the trophy contenders, the playoff contenders and the lottery contenders. It’s starting to become more clear which teams fit into these categories as we move past halfway point in the WNBA season. Majority of the players will finally get a chance to rest after playing overseas while some of them are off to represent their country in the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. You can view last week’s WNBA Major Awards watch here.

2021 Major Awards Watch – Week 9

Most Valuable Player: Jonquel Jones, Connecticut Sun. She had tough competition against the likes of Stewart and Wilson, but she slightly takes the lead for this week.

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota Lynx. This has got to be the easiest week to decide this award. The Lynx are rolling and their defense has been great. Fowles is responsible for some of that.

Most Improved Player of the Year: Brionna Jones, Connecticut Sun

Sixth Woman of the Year: Kelsey Plum/Dearica Hamby, Las Vegas Aces. Both were so stellar off the bench for the Aces this past week and both players are deserving for this week’s honour.

Rookie of the Year: Michaela Onyenwere, New York Liberty

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award: Sue Bird, Seattle Storm

Coach of the Year: Noelle Quinn, Seattle Storm

Executive of the Year: Dan Padover, Las Vegas Aces

All-WNBA First Team* (not position based)

  • Jonquel Jones – Connecticut Sun
  • Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm
  • A’ja Wilson – Las Vegas Aces
  • Napheesa Collier – Minnesota Lynx
  • Courtney Vandersloot – Chicago Sky

All-WNBA Second Team

  • Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx
  • Candace Parker – Chicago Sky
  • Dewanna Bonner – Connecticut Sun
  • Jewell Loyd – Seattle Storm
  • Tina Charles – Washington Mystics

All-Defense Team

  • Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx
  • Riquna Williams – Las Vegas Aces
  • Brittney Sykes – Los Angeles Sparks
  • Kahleah Copper – Chicago Sky
  • Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty

All-Rookie Team

  • Michaela Onyenwere – New York Liberty
  • Charli Collier – Dallas Wings
  • Aari McDonald – Atlanta Dream
  • Chelsey Perry – Indiana Fever
  • DiJonai Carrington – Connecticut Sun


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s