2021 WNBA Major Awards Watch – Week 8

Brionna Jones of the Connecticut Sun

We have now finished 8 weeks of WNBA play. 2 months of solid competition. We are also seeing teams seperate themselves into three categories: the title contenders, the playoff teams and lottery bound teams. While some may say it is too early to tell who will make the lottery among the playoff teams, I think we can get a sense of who those teams will be.

The Atlanta Dream, the Indiana Fever, the Los Angeles Sparks and the Washington Mystics are in the bottom of the standings and although there could be a small chance of them making a push into playoff positioning, it doesn’t seem very likely.

Now, moving onto the awards watch. There are some players who have made themselves stand out in some categories. The fun thing with the WNBA Awards watch series is that it can change week to week. It’s designed in part to see who stood out that week and by the end of the season, see who was the most consistent. You can view last week WNBA awards watch here.

2021 Major Awards Watch – Week 8

MVP: Jonquel Jones, Connecticut Sun

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota Lynx

Most Improved Player: I couldn’t decide between Marina Mabrey of the Dallas Wings and Brionna Jones of the Connecticut Sun. Both were great last week.

Sixth Woman of the Year: Dearica Hamby, Las Vegas Aces

Rookie of the Year: Michaela Onyenwere, New York Liberty

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award: Sue Bird, Seattle Storm

Coach of the Year: Noelle Quinn, Seattle Storm

Executive of the Year: Dan Padover, Las Vegas Aces

All -WNBA First Team

  • A’ja Wilson – Las Vegas Aces
  • Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm
  • Jonquel Jones – Connecticut Sun
  • Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty
  • Courtney Vandersloot – Chicago Sky

All – WNBA Second Team

  • Jewell Loyd – Seattle Storm
  • Candace Parker – Chicago Sky
  • Dewanna Bonner – Connecticut Sun
  • Liz Cambage – Las Vegas Aces
  • Napheesa Collier – Minnesota Lynx

All- Defense Team

  • Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx
  • Kahleah Copper – Chicago Sky
  • Brittney Sykes – Los Angeles Sparks
  • Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty
  • Riquana Williams – Las Vegas Aces

All- Rookie Team

  • Michaela Onyenwere – NY Liberty
  • DiDi Richards – New York Liberty
  • Dana Evans – Chicago Sky
  • DiJonai Carrington – Connecticut Sun
  • Chelsey Perry – Indiana Fever


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s