2021 Major WNBA Awards Watch – Week 13

Cheryl Reeve of the Minnesota Lynx

Last week, the top teams kept shining and separating themselves from the rest. It’s pretty clear on which teams are elite, which teams are contenders and which teams are heading to the lottery. It’s still pretty much in the air of which teams will qualify for the last two remaining spots in the playoffs after the Chicago Sky clinched the sixth playoff spot yesterday afternoon against the Las Vegas Aces.

At this point, it’s very clear on which players are the front runners of the major individual awards and we are getting a sense of which players/coaches/GM’s may take home their respective awards in their category. Listed below is the current front runner predictions for each major individual award. You can view last week’s awards watch here.

Most Valuable Player: Jonquel Jones – Connecticut Sun

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx

Most Improved Player of the Year: Brionna Jones – Connecticut Sun

Sixth Woman of the Year: Kelsey Plum – Las Vegas Aces

Rookie of the Year: Michaela Onyenwere – New York Liberty

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award: Sue Bird, Seattle Storm

Coach of the Year: Curt Miller – Connecticut Sun

Executive of the Year: Cheryl Reeve – Minnesota Lynx

All – WNBA First Team (*not position based)

  • F – A’ja Wilson – Las Vegas Aces
  • F – Dewanna Bonner – Connecticut Sun
  • F – Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm
  • F/C – Jonquel Jones – Connecticut Sun
  • C – Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx

All – WNBA Second Team (*not position based)

  • G – Skylar Diggins-Smith – Phoenix Mercury
  • F – Napheesa Collier – Minnesota Lynx
  • F – Candace Parker – Chicago Sky
  • F/C – Brittney Griner – Phoenix Mercury
  • G – Kahleah Copper – Chicago Sky

All – WNBA Defense Team

  • Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx
  • Ariel Atkins – Washington Mystics
  • Natasha Cloud – Washington Mystics
  • Kahleah Copper – Chicago Sky
  • DiDi Richards – New York Liberty

All – Rookie Team

  • Aari McDonald – Atlanta Dream
  • Michaela Onyenwere – New York Liberty
  • DiDi Richards – New York Liberty
  • Awak Kuier – Dallas Wings
  • DiJonai Carrington – Connecticut Sun

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s