2021 Major WNBA Awards Watch – Week 7

Sylvia Fowles of the Minnesota Lynx.

Wow. What a week. The Storm lost twice this week, the Aces won the season series between these two teams. The Sun got back on track in the win column and Jonquel Jones will be back this week. It was an interesting week, that’s for sure. Listed below is the latest WNBA Awards watch. You can view the previous week here.

Executive of the Year: James Wade for the Chicago Sky is making a strong play for this award. Although, they lost their most recent game, the Sky are in fourth place in the WNBA standings. I had Jonathan Kolb as the Executive of the Year for many weeks, but for this week, this award belongs to James Wade of the Chicago Sky.

Coach of the Year: This is another tough one for this week. This could go to Mike Thibault from the Mystics who keeps finding ways for his team to win despite the number of injuries on his roster. Bill Laimbeer, James Wade, Noelle Quinn are also in the mix. I’ve had Walt Hopkins as my choice for Coach of the Year, but for this week, I’m going with Mike Thibault from the Washington Mystics. It’s really difficult to win in the WNBA short handed, but he always has found a way to keep the game close, even if the Mystics win or lose the game.

Kim Perrot Sportsmanship Award: Sue Bird, Seattle Storm

Most Improved Player Award: Marina Mabrey, Dallas Wings

MVP: This week is tough. Tina Charles has been outstanding this past week and deserves some recognition. However, to win MVP, despite what people think, team records play a huge part in determining who gets the award. I’ve had Jewell Loyd as my early MVP candidate in the beginning of the season and shortly thereafter, Breanna Stewart also came into the picture as a possible WNBA MVP candidate after having some strong games. A’ja Wilson has also picked up her play as well. I don’t have a clear cut pick for the MVP award this week.

Defensive Player of the Year: Sylvia Fowles, Minnesota Lynx. Fowles is now the leading candidate for this award after her strong play this week.

Sixth Woman of the Year: Dearica Hamby of the Las Vegas Aces still is the leading candidate, but Kelsey Plum is starting to make a case for this award as well. Marina Mabrey can also be considered a contender for this award, but in my opinion, Hamby is my pick for the Sixth Woman of the Year.

Rookie of the Year: Michaela Onyenwere, New York Liberty

WNBA All First Team

  • Breanna Stewart – Seattle Storm
  • Jewell Loyd – Seattle Storm
  • A’ja Wilson – Las Vegas Aces
  • Courtney Vandersloot – Chicago Sky
  • Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx

WNBA All Second Team

  • Candace Parker – Chicago Sky
  • Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty
  • Napheesa Collier – Minnesota Lynx
  • Tina Charles – Washington Mystics
  • Brittney Griner – Phoenix Mercury

All Defense Team

  • Brittney Sykes – Los Angeles Sparks
  • Brittney Griner – Phoenix Mercury
  • Sylvia Fowles – Minnesota Lynx
  • Betnijah Laney – New York Liberty
  • Ariel Atkins – Washington Mystics

All Rookie Team

  • Michaela Onyenwere – New York Liberty
  • Charli Collier – Dallas Wings
  • Dana Evans – Chicago Sky
  • Aari McDonald – Atlanta Dream
  • DiDi Richards – New York Liberty

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s